Past Summer Series Participants

The History of Summer Series: Featured Artists & Conversations

Artist presentations, conversations and critical dialogue programs have always had an important place at Anderson Ranch. In the early days of the Ranch, simple presentations by faculty and Visiting Artists took place in casual settings on the Ranch’s five-acre property. Later, a tent was erected and presentations became more formalized, with two clay symposia in the early 1980s including California Clay in the Rockies, featuring Ken Price, Don Reitz, Paul Soldner, Peter Voulkos and others. During his tenure at the Ranch, Executive Director Jim Baker organized “The Political Landscape”, an exploration of government issues focused on public lands in the West, and later Kathleen Loe established a critical studies program in the 1990s, discussing “The Politics of Art” and more. With the dedication of Schermer Meeting Hall in 2000, the Summer Series and Critical Dialog programs evolved into the thought-provoking programs, presentations and conversations with the leaders and superstars of contemporary art we enjoy today.

Past Participants 2010-2018

Marina Abramovic

Nora Abrams

Doug Aitken

Diana Al-Hadid

Radcliffe Bailey

Barry X Ball

Hernan Bas

Naomi Beckwith

Walead Beshty

Huma Bhabha

McArthur Binion

Ross Bleckner

Andrea Bowers

Tania Bruguera

Bunny & Charles Burson

Darrell Cannon

Amy Cappellazzo

James Casebere

Wendell Castle

Enrique Martínez Celaya

Enrique Chagoya

Mel Chin

Bjørnstjerne Christiansen

Willie Cole

Holland Cotter

Petah Coyne

Njideka Akunyili Crosby

Eleanore & Domenico

De Sole

Greg Dobbs

Tara Donovan

Carroll Dunham

Olafur Eliasson

Edward Felsenthal

Jakob Fenger

Lizzie Fitch

Charles Gaines

Theaster Gates

Massimiliano Gioni

Michael Golec

Jan & Ronnie Greenberg

Jeffrey Grove

Nikolai Haas

Simon Haas

Eleanor Heartney

Leila Heller

Walter Isaacson

Alex Israel

Loren Jenkins

Rashid Johnson

Titus Kaphar

Adam Lerner

Robert Longo

Liza Lou

Nancy Magoon

Steve McQueen

Vik Muniz

Alexandra Munroe

Wangechi Mutu

Ron Nagle

Shirin Neshat

Rasmus Nielsen

William J. O’Brien

Catherine Opie

Angel Otero

Trevor Paglen

Shana & Robert


Judy Pfaff

Ann Philbin

Lisa Phillips

Helaine Posner

Alex Prager

Nancy Princenthal

Charles Ray

Pedro Reyes

Laurie Jo Reynolds

Tom Sachs

Jerry Saltz

Debra & Dennis Scholl

Sue Scott

Arlene Shechet

Laurie Simmons

Xaviera Simmons

Dean Sobel

Alec Soth

Frank Stella

Jessica Stockholder

Jennifer & David Stockman


Diana Thater

Hank W. Thomas

Mickalene Thomas

Sarah Thornton

Fred Tomaselli

Ryan Trecartin

Bill Viola

Ursula von Rydingsvard

Kara Walker

Carrie Mae Weems

Ai Weiwei

Dede Young

Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Tell us what you're interested in!