Past Summer Series Participants

The History of Summer Series: Featured Artists & Conversations

Artist presentations, conversations and critical dialogue programs have always had an important place at Anderson Ranch. In the early days of the Ranch, simple presentations by faculty and Visiting Artists took place in casual settings on the Ranch’s five-acre property. Later, a tent was erected and presentations became more formalized, with two clay symposia in the early 1980s including California Clay in the Rockies, featuring Ken Price, Don Reitz, Paul Soldner, Peter Voulkos and others. During his tenure at the Ranch, Executive Director Jim Baker organized “The Political Landscape”, an exploration of government issues focused on public lands in the West, and later Kathleen Loe established a critical studies program in the 1990s, discussing “The Politics of Art” and more. With the dedication of Schermer Meeting Hall in 2000, the Summer Series and Critical Dialog programs evolved into the thought-provoking programs, presentations and conversations with the leaders and superstars of contemporary art we enjoy today.

Past Participants 2010-2023

Doug Aitken Bjørnstjerne Christiansen Leila Heller Brad Miller
Marina Abramovic Willie Cole Walter Isaacson Tom Sachs
Nora Abrams Holland Cotter Alex Israel Jerry Saltz
Diana Al-Hadid Petah Coyne Loren Jenkins Debra & Dennis Scholl
Doug Casebeer Njideka Akunyili Crosby Rashid Johnson Sue Scott
Elliot Hundley Eleanore & Domenico De Sole Titus Kaphar Arlene Shechet
Beth Rudin DeWoody Greg Dobbs Shio Kusaka Laurie Simmons
Radcliffe Bailey Tara Donovan Maynard Monrow Xaviera Simmons
Barry X Ball Carroll Dunham Maysha Mohamedi Dean Sobel
Hernan Bas Lori Pittman William J. O’Brien Alec Soth
Naomi Beckwith Olafur Eliasson Catherine Opie Frank Stella
Walead Beshty Nicole Eisenman Angel Otero Jessica Stockholder
Huma Bhabha Edward Felsenthal Trevor Paglen Jennifer & David Stockman
McArthur Binion Jakob Fenger Shana & Robert ParkeHarrison Superflex
Ross Bleckner Lizzie Fitch Judy Pfaff Diana Thater
Andrea Bowers Charles Gaines Paul McCarthy Hank W. Thomas
Tania Bruguera Theaster Gates Ann Philbin Mickalene Thomas
Bunny & Charles Burson Mark Grotjahn Julia Phillips Sarah Thornton
Darrell Cannon Massimiliano Gioni Lisa Phillips Fred Tomaselli
Amy Cappellazzo Michael Golec Helaine Posner Ryan Trecartin
James Casebere Jan & Ronnie Greenberg Paul Pfeiffer Tavares Strachan
Wendell Castle Jeffrey Grove Alex Prager Jeff Wall
Enrique Martínez Celaya Nikolai Haas Nancy Princenthal Bill Viola
Enrique Chagoya Simon Haas Charles Ray Ursula von Rydingsvard
Mel Chin Sanford Biggers Pedro Reyes Kara Walker
Nick Cave Eleanor Heartney Laurie Jo Reynolds Carrie Mae Weems
Ai Weiwei
Dede Young

Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Tell us what you're interested in!